Sharla's Home For Wayward Thoughts

A resting place for thoughts on family, friends, love, life and God

The Octonauts Sea Creature Cookies March 17, 2012

My lovely daughter is very excited about her upcoming birthday party. By upcoming, I mean three months away. She has chosen for the theme… drumroll please… The Octonauts. There is a very good chance that if you read this when it’s published and you’re in the US, you just thought, “The what?” The Octonauts is a series of books that was turned into a TV series in the UK and just recently made it’s way to the Disney Channel in the US. Let’s just call her an early adopter. We’ve seen every episode. Many, many times.

All that being said, you can’t run out to Wal-Mart and buy The Octonauts party pack. So, we’re going to have to get a little creative. Pinterest has been a Godsend in this area. There are at least six other moms who have been in my predicament and their boards have been very helpful. I’ve done a lot of Googling. Etsy, as always, has not let me down. If I had the money, I could probably buy a pretty decent Octonauts party. But I don’t have lots of spare cash laying around, so DIY it is.

This is a first attempt by my sister, Stephanie, and me at sea creature cookies. We bought some cookie cutters from Elizabeth’s Cake Supply (amazing place!) and experimented with what we had on hand. Given the fact that I’d rank my cake/cookie decorating skills as “Clueless Level 1” they’re not too bad! I love that the little black eyes match the animals in The Octonauts artwork. Hopefully, there will be more experiments to come!

20120317-084459.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

