Sharla's Home For Wayward Thoughts

A resting place for thoughts on family, friends, love, life and God

A Hoarding Heart July 6, 2010

Filed under: Thoughts About Becoming Better,Thoughts With Images — sharlamain @ 1:53 am

There seem to be tons of shows on right now about hoarding. I tried to watch one recently and could only take about two minutes worth before I had to change the channel. I couldn’t take it!

The next day I started trying to think of ways to get rid of things. I began washing my hair with those tiny shampoos I collected from numerous hotels. I packed up all the cute baby clothes I can no longer squeeze my daughter into and gave them to a beautiful little girl who could use them. Then this weekend I decided we should actually eat the stuff in our freezer. What a novel concept!

That’s where the hash browns above came into the picture. We don’t normally eat hash browns. My husband and I didn’t even buy them. (My sister bought them at some unknown point in the past.) But here they were and we had to deal with them. I decided to add them into our menu this week and you know what? They were pretty good!

The one thing that wasn’t so good was cooking them. I’m guessing they’d been in the freezer a little longer than the recommended time. When we poured them into the pan per the directions, the hash browns plopped down in a pure potato brick. As I was cooking them (about 10 times longer than I was supposed to) I had plenty of time to start thinking about getting rid of the junk in my life, spiritually speaking.

What has been laying around my heart or mind that I just haven’t been paying attention to? Are there putrid assumptions lurking at the back of my thoughts? I’m sure it’s going to take me quite a while to find it all (I’m great at hiding things) but I believe it will be worth the work. I don’t want to wake up one day to find I’ve been hoarding old ideas and rotten thoughts.

In this case, however, I don’t think we’ll be eating our way out!

 

Leave a Reply

